Today, January 11th, 2012, is National Human Trafficking Awareness Day in the U.S. Many organizations are sponsoring events to mark the day, hosting speakers, prayer vigils, fundraisers, etc. There is even an international group of remarkable women climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro as part of The Freedom Climb.  I was thinking last night about how I might want to observe Human Trafficking Awareness Day so that I could be aware throughout the day that slavery still exists not only around the world, but in Silicon Valley where I live.  I don’t think I’m going to be able to attend one of the public events in my area, so I’m going to have to participate online, and in my own private way.  I plan to make a couple of posts here in the blog, partly to keep the issue in front of me, and also to spread awareness to readers.  I’m currently reading A Crime So Monstrous by E. Benjamin Skinner, so I’ll spend some time reading and thinking about the issue tonight before bed.  I’m also going to be talking with one of my kids tonight, and the topic will come up, if only briefly.

But it occurred to me as I was considering options for helping raise awareness of human trafficking, that there’s one group of people that don’t need to be made aware of the problem — the victims.  A man in India who works in a brick factory because of bonded debt slavery, and can’t protect his wife or send his children to school, doesn’t need to be told that slavery exists.  A girl kidnapped from Mexico and smuggled to San Diego to be commercially raped multiple times a night until she is either rescued, or becomes too old, sick, and unattractive to be profitable to her pimp, doesn’t need to be reminded about human trafficking.

So don’t bother to tell the victims of modern slavery that today is National Human Trafficking Awareness Day, because they don’t need to know.  They are aware every moment of every day that they don’t have the freedom to go where they want and live as they choose.  Someone more powerful than them is exploiting them for profit, and it’s going to take someone else more powerful — you and me — to not only rescue them, but to help them with the rehabilitation that will be required to give them new hope.

Please click here (or on the speech bubbled next to the title of the post) to leave a comment with your choices and observations about National Human Trafficking Awareness Day.

Comments
  1. Aaron Short says:

    Such a tragic crime, and such a huge problem, check out the great work that is being done for trafficking victims by a nonprofit based in Colorado http://www.restoreinnocence.org/

    • Carl says:

      Thanks for visiting and commenting Aaron. I appreciate the mention of the Restore Innocence site, and encourage others to visit.

  2. Lynn Mosher says:

    Carl, so many people are fighting this stench that it is impossible to include them all in one post, isn’t it? Such a great article. And thank you for correcting me on my post. I have since fixed it. I have not had time to let you know that I mentioned you in my article but I have changed it and put in a link to this post. Thank you for your fight against human trafficking and your efforts to make others aware of this atrocity. Bless you!

    • Carl says:

      Hi Lynn, thanks for visiting and commenting, and again for the mention in your blog post (http://lynnmosher.blogspot.com/2012/01/deliver-them-from-evil.html). Thank you also for making the correction. There’s a lot of reposting and sharing that goes on in the blogosphere, so I value it when appropriate credit is given to the original source, especially when it’s something involving as much hard work as went into the slavery map at Not For Sale. All the best to you in your writing and blogging!
      -Carl

Leave a Reply

