Congress Members Ask Craigslist to Stop Abetting Human Trafficking

Posted: June 19, 2009 in forced prostitution, human trafficking, sex trafficking
Tags: , , , , , ,

Is Craigslist assisting human traffickers?  It appears that some of our congressional representatives are concerned that Craigslist is abetting illegal activity. Despite Craigslist’s pressured replacement of the “Erotic Services” section with a new “Adult Section,” members of Congress sent a letter asking Craigslist to respond to a number of pointed questions:

  • “What means do you intend to employ to ensure that those who seek listings in the new ‘Adult Section’ are not victims of unlawful trafficking, and that the ‘users’ of their ‘services’ are not unlawful, paying customer johns or violent abusers?
  • What level of cooperation do you intend to establish with police agencies to ensure the enforcement of criminal laws and the faciliation of criminal investigations?
  • What accountability will there be for employees — and for Craigslist — if listings for illegal activity are posted?”

You can read the entire letter. Congressional Craigslist Letter 2009-06-10

Comments
  1. msmignoresit says:

    More importantly than Craigs List is the fact that the majority of the UNSC members are complicit in the crime. Please, check the archives at msmignoresit.blogspot.com/

  2. Zeev D says:

    in general, people coming to this site should def. read this piece: http://www.rsis.edu.sg/nts/HTML-Newsletter/alert/NTS-alert-may-1102.html it is a must read and an eye opener

  3. Black Market says:

    Now that Craigslist has removed their human trafficking ads, I think we should target other websites that cater to predators.

  4. Carrie says:

    Wow, I can’t even believe that section existed in the first place… what kind of example does that set for younger people using the site to purchase video games, toys, music eqpt, etc.
    If you are interested in learning more about how to help human trafficking or prevent forced labor in our society, you may want to check out this interview with Dr. Burke of the Proj to End Human Trafficking: http://bit.Ly/hEJXVN

  5. Snow Black says:

    I really want to be responsible for all the well-being of our planet in this deliciously way! Fell good about myself and also plants, animals and even ocean water and soil! So proud of myself! It souds a great idea. http://www.stockthewarehouse.org/trendspotting/environmentally-lush-ous-deliciously-responsible-cosmetics.html

  6. Its about time craigslist got rid of this section. I can see why they hung onto this section so long cuz of the revenue.

  7. Sean says:

    Hey Carl, I came across your post while researching some broad info on this troubling topic. Thanks for your contribution, I think nothing can help us more than awareness.
    Here’s the link: http://iqalublog.wordpress.com/2010/08/19/the-greatest-moral-challenge-of-this-century/

    I look forward to hearing about the response from craigslist

    Sean

  8. It’s funny how Craigslist.com has done this, but what is even funnier is that there are still relevant ads like this on Craigslist.com. Recently I found http://www.allofcraigslist.com and did Craigslist.com searches to find that there are still hundreds of thousands of ads posted that should not be…lol

    Regards,
    Craig Patterson

    Regards,
    Craig Patterson

  9. seo writer says:

    thanks for this post. It helped me a lot. Btw How you get ideas for such posts. sorry if it’s out of topic.

    • Carl says:

      You’re welcome, and I’m glad it helped. As far as getting ideas, it usually comes from something I read or receive from someone else. Many of my friends and family know this is an area of interest, so they act as “antennae” for me. If they see or hear something, they pass it on to me. I also receive regular emails from a local Human Trafficking Coalition that I have at times attended meetings with. Also, I receive the “Stop Trafficking” newsletter monthly. You can find the link under my “Resources about HT” section on the right sidebar. When I come across a useful web site or organization, I try to plug it on my blog. And I’ve even gotten ideas about books and organizations from comments like yours. If you know of any good sources of info that you’d like me to mention, pass it along.

      -Carl

  10. Hi Carl,
    do you know if Craigslist have responded to this letter and if so the nature of that response?
    many thanks john

    • Carl says:

      John,

      Thanks for your comment. I don’t know if Craigslist responded. I’ll ask the person who sent me the original notice and see if anything has been done. If I find out, I’ll post a follow up.

      -Carl

Leave a Reply

